Political map

Montenegro is a small country in south-eastern Europe. It has population of about 620,000. Its territory of 13,812 square kilometers is approximately the size of the U.S. state of Connecticut. The population consists of a majority of Montenegrins (62%) along with Serbs (9%), Albanians (7%), Muslims (15%), Croats (1%) and others (based on the 1991 census). The majority of the population belongs to the Orthodox Christian tradition (Montenegrins and Serbs); there is also a large Muslim population and smaller numbers of Roman Catholics.

The Political Structure

The official name: Republic of Montenegro

The form of government: Democratic Republic

The form of legislature: unicameral

The main political parties: Democratic Party of Socialists (president: Milo Djukanovic, new president of the Republic), People's Party (president: Novak Kilibarda), Liberal Alliance (president: Slavko Perovic), Social Democratic Party (president: Zarko Rakcevic), Albanian Democratic League (president: Mehmed Bardhi), and Albanian Democratic Union (president: Fermat Dinosa).

Recent Political Developments

Montenegro was one of the six republics of the former Yugoslavia. In 1992, following the disintegration of the former Yugoslavia, Montenegro entered a new federation with Serbia, the Federal Republic of Yugoslavia. This controversial decision (the Montenegrin liberal opposition boycotted the referendum under conditions of near war) is increasingly questioned and reassessed in Montenegro today. The federation with Serbia is not recognized by the United States nor by many other countries.

You can learn more about Montenegro's History, Geography, Religion, Language, Politics, Treasures, the Montenegrin Association of America, and What's New at this Web Site.

Flag of Montenegro Flag of the old Kingdom of Montenegro

You may return to the home page at any time. Last updated on 1 February 1998